Post Reformation Ministers

Post Reformation Ministers of St Ninians Old Parish Church

1567-1587       Patrick Gillespie
Minister of St Ninians, Larbert, Donypace, Kippane, Kirk o’ Muir and Gargunnock.

1587-1624       Henry Livingstone AM
Master of Stirling Grammar School 1613-1628. Deposed in 1649 but reponed in 1635. Died 1664.

1624-1664       James Edmonstone AM
Presented by James VI.

1650-1674       George Bennett
Minister of Quothquan Church.

1676-1684       William Fogo AM
Minister of Bothkennar, admitted 1676 by Charles II. Died 1684 aged 58.

1684- 1687      James Fullerton
Minister of Dunnett, presented in 1684 by Charles II and admitted 31 December 1684. Died 11 February 1687.

1687-1690       James Forsyth AM
Minister of Clackmannan. Presented by James VII. Admitted 27 July 1687. Deposed 4 November 1690 for marrying a man to his first wife’s niece. Died 1720.

Episcopy Abolished.

1688-1692       Patrick Couper AM (Scone)
Called by the Presbyterians in 1688. Ordained at a meeting house in Bannockburn. Lived at Cannock and Chartershall (1500 examinable members and 14 Elders). In 1692 removed by Synod to Pittenweem.

Vacancy 15 May 1692 to 5 June 1695

1695-1727       John Logan
Minister of Lecroft. Presented by Presbytery in 1694. Admitted 5 June 1695. Died 14 July 1727.

1728-1732       Archibald Gibson AM
Minister of Dunblane. Admitted 3 June 1728. Translated to Lady Yester 1 November 1727.

1734-1753       James Mackie
Minister of Forteviot. Placed by Commission of Assembly in opposition to the wishes of most parishioners. Church blown up on 1 February 1746. Worship in West Kirk Stirling. New Kirk opened in 1750. Moderator of General Assembly 1751. Translated to St Cuthberts 1753. Half the congregation became seceders. Failed to get government to rebuild church.

1754-1765       John Gibson
Born in the manse of St Ninians. Presented by JNO Erskine of Carnock in 1754. Translated to St Cuthberts in 1765.

1773-1788       David Thomson
Minister of Gargunnock. Presented by Sir John Stewart of Allenbank in 1766. Admitted after 8 year fight in 1773. Opponents formed the Relief Church of St Ninians. Died in 1788.

1788-1823       William Sherriff
Called by heads of families who had bought patronage. Became Baptist and deposed in 1823. Died a Baptist Church minister in Glasgow in 1832.

1824-1843       Christopher Greig
Minister of Leslie, called by the heads of families in 1823 (there were 316 heads of families). Inducted in 1824 and went out at the Disruption. Died in 1844 and is buried in St Ninians cemetery.

1844-1879       Robert Paisley DD
Called by the heads of families in 1844.

1880-1883       Donald C Bruce
Minister of Aberfoyle. Elected by the congregation after a year’s fight.

1885-1913       John Methven Robertson DD
Minister of Tron. Elected unanimously after a futile election between 2 other ministers.

1913-1939       Edward Roland Jones MA BD
Appointed assistant in 1911 and inducted in 1913.

1940-1968       David Dick BD DD
Educated at Waid Academy, Anstruther, the High School, Greenock and St Andrews University, David Dick was assistant at Dunblane Cathedral and served as a Territorial Army Chaplain. He was inducted to St Ninians Old on 12 June 1940.

1969-1998       James Stirling BSc BD
Translated from Allloa St Andrews and inducted on 4 June 1969

1998-               Gary J McIntyre BD Dip Min
Translated from Kingarth and Kilchattan Bay linked with the High Kirk of Rothesay and inducted on 19 November 1998.

Powered by Church Edit